Biography

Patrick NOAH Afro Cuban Music

PRESENTATION OF THE ARTIST PATRICK NOAH

patrick-noah-petit-journal-montparnasse

Born in the capital of Cameroon, Patrick Noah began singing at the age of 11 in the choir of his neighborhood. In 1989, seriously ill, he received his first guitar from his mother Técla, whom he never left. Saved by a medecine of his ancestors, as the doctors failed in the diagnose of his disease, Patrick Noah gradually returns to feet and begins a series of compositions. Traditional music and reminders to ancestors are frequent in the texts of Patrick Noah. Mixing ethnic and modern sounds, it gives to this synthesis of musics of African roots the name of AfroMusicS; A genre consisting of the fusion of afro-cuban, latin jazz, afro-caribbean, merengue, salsa, makossa … For Patrick Noah, this constitutes “…  a mainly philosophical objective, aiming to give African music the universal dimension that it deserves by going to the source in order to make the public getting benefit from the magnificent heritage left by our ancestors, Tara: those who went in America, in the Caribbean, in Europe, and those who stayed in Africa … “.

Passionate about Cuban music, Patrick Noah has worked extensively in his artistic projects and albums with musicians from Septeto Araison or Manolito Simonet, as well as with the Bamboleo, Orishas and Los Papines groups.

Singer, guitarist, author, composer, Patrick NOAH plays a music “weaving” or music imbued with Jazz, Afro-Cuban and African roots. To accompany singing and chorus, the instruments played in concert are: electro-acoustic guitar, “tres” Cuban guitar, electric guitar, bass, percussion, drums, maracas, trumpet, saxophone.

PATRICK NOAH: THE PATH

patrick-noah-studioThe music of Patrick NOAH is the tasty result of a mix of Afro Cuban rhythms, Bikutsi from Cameroon, rumba of Congo, guaira, merengue, rumba, latin jazz … All united by a common root: Africa.

Guitarist with a very good musical technique, enthusiastic and enthralling singer, Patrick Noah gives to its performances of a catchy sound and a unique style. Patrick NOAH’s stage performances convey a contagious energy that inevitably invites his audience to movement and dance. Accompanied by his Cuban musicians, he offers to his audience, each time, quality, warm and exhilarating concerts

Patrick NOAH’s latest album, is distributed in 22 countries (Europe, USA, Japan, Canada …). This album is the story of an unlikely and unexpected encounter between two cultures: the Cameroonian one with Patrick Noah, the other one Cuban, with Ray Guerrero and his group the Septeto Araison. This album responds to a philosophical objective that is at the heart of its musical quest: exploring music that originates in African music in order to offer the public the heritage left by the ancestors.

From this quest borns what Patrick Noah calls the “AfromusicS”. This new musical concept is inspired by all music from the African musical heritage: afro pure, jazz, afro-cuban, afro-brazilian, blues, afro-caribéen…

Defending the values of solidarity and cross-breeding, Patrick NOAH received the “prize of citizenship for cultural practice” from Jean Louis Débré, former President of the Constitutional Court in France and former President of the French National Assembly . Patrick Noah testifies via his music the universal and original dimension of African music.

PATRICK NOAH: THE MAN AND HIS HISTORY

Patrick Noah was born in Yaoundé in 1973. Since his childhood, he is imbued with music. Living in a society where singing occupies a primordial place – people sings joy, sadness and also to accompany the daily labor – Patrick did not escape all this. Coming from a Catholic family, for him, to sing is to pray twice. From the age of 11 he joined the choir of his neighborhood and began to write his first songs, one of them entitled “l’école” was presented to the diploma of end of primary studies. In 1989, he received his first guitar from his mother’s hands, Técla. Rocked in a musical universe, he learns quickly, alone, to break through the secrets of this instrument to acquire all mastery and extract new creations. Guided by his passion, he founded his first group with his friends of the university of Yaoundé in 1991. It is the occasion for him to be able to interpret his first compositions at concerts given in the performance halls of Yaoundé. In addition to his many musical activities, Patrick Noah studied pharmacy which took him to France in 1992.

ZAK_2753Patrick was never able to conceive his life without the music “the main source of energy and happiness”. This is why, as soon as he arrived in Grenoble, he created his first band Tropical Gun in 1992 which became Feeling One Music Africa in 1994. The need to return to his origins is increasingly felt in his music. That is why he chose, in 1997, to rename his group Akum Be Tara, which means in the Beti language of Cameroon “the heritage of the ancestors”.

Patrick invents at this at this time the concept of AfromusicS: “… an objective above all philosophical, aimed at giving African music the universal dimension it deserves by going to the source in order to make the public benefit from the magnificent heritage left by our ancestors, Tara: those who moved to America, in the Caribbean, in Europe, and those who stayed in Africa …”.

His maxi single 5 titles “Dzal” released in March 2003 is presented as the fruit of his first reflections. Since its release, it has enjoyed great success in Cameroon and welcomed by music lovers from around the world, notably in Cuba, Africa, France and Canada. His song “Lazare” becomes in May 2003 generic of daily broadcast on the Cameroon radio television. His songs are also broadcast on Cuban radio stations.

His latest album “Sapéria” released at Playasound / Nocturne is the fruit of a weaving between the music of Cameroon and Cuba.

Patrick NOAH also collaborated on the last album of the Canadian Jean Michelius in which he wrote and composed the song “Vincent” or “Ou ka went my Vincent”.

 

Playlists radio :
Kut Radio Austin USA, France Inter, Africa N ° 1, Radio Latina, France Bleu Normandie, Radio Rebelde Cuba, Radio Planicie Peru, Radio Vexin, ID FM Radio Enghien, Radio Gatine …

 

Playlists televisions :
Trace TV, 3A Télésud, Cameroon Radio TV, Television Togo TVT, MBOA TV


Prize / Distribution :

patrick-noah-jean-louis-debre

2005, Winner of the Citizenship Prize for Cultural Practice, awarded by Jean Louis Debré President of the French National Assembly

2012, Patrick Noah is awarded musician “favourite artist” of the city of Ulis near Paris

Patrick NOAH Afro Cuban Music

PRÉSENTATION DE L’ARTISTE PATRICK NOAH

patrick-noah-petit-journal-montparnasseNé dans la capitale du Cameroun, Patrick Noah débute le chant à l’âge de 11 ans dans la chorale de son quartier. En 1989, gravement malade, il reçoit sa première guitare des mains de sa mère Técla, qu’il ne quitte plus. Sauvé par un remède de ses aïeux, les médecins n’ayant pas diagnostiqué sa maladie, Patrick Noah se remet peu à

peu sur pieds et débute une série de compositions. La musique traditionnelle et les rappels aux ancêtres sont fréquents dans les textes de Patrick Noah. Mêlant sonorités ethniques et modernes, il donne à cette synthèse de

musiques de racines africaines l’appellation d’AfroMusicS; un genre consistant en la fusion d’afro-cubain, latin jazz, afro-caribéen, merengue, salsa, makossa… Pour Patrick Noah, cela constitue “ … un objectif surtout philosophique, visant à donner à la musique africaine la dimension universelle qu’elle mérite en allant puiser à la source dans le but de faire profiter le public du magnifique héritage légué par nos ancêtres, Tara : ceux qui sont partis en Amérique, dans les Caraïbes, en Europe, ceux qui sont restés en Afrique …”.

Passionné par la musique cubaine, Patrick Noah a beaucoup travaillé dans ses projets artistiques et ses albums avec des musiciens du Septeto Araison ou de Manolito Simonet, ainsi qu’avec les groupes Bamboleo, Orishas ou encore Los Papines.

Chanteur, guitariste, auteur, compositeur, Patrick NOAH joue une musique « tissage » ou musique imprégnée de Jazz, d’Afro-cubain et de racines africaines. Pour accompagner le chant et les chœurs, les instruments joués en concert sont : la guitare électro-acoustique, la guitare « très » cubaine, la guitare électrique, la bass, les percussions, la batterie,  les maracas, la trompette, le saxophone.

PATRICK NOAH : LE PARCOURS

patrick-noah-studioLa musique de Patrick NOAH est le résultat  savoureux d’un mélange de rythmes afro cubains, Bikutsi du Cameroun, rumba du Congo, guaira, mérengué, rumba, latin jazz … Tous unis par une racine commune : l’Afrique.

Guitariste doué d’une très bonne technique musicale, chanteur enthousiaste et envoûtant, Patrick Noah donne à ses prestations d’une sonorité entrainante et d’un style unique. Les performances scéniques de Patrick NOAH véhiculent une énergie contagieuse qui invite inévitablement son public au mouvement et à la danse. Accompagné de ses musiciens cubains, il offre à chaque fois à son auditoire, des concerts de qualité, chaleureux et exaltants

Le dernier  album de Patrick NOAH distribué dans 22 pays (Europe, USA, Japon, Canada…) , c’est avant tout l’histoire d’une rencontre aussi improbable qu’imprévue entre deux cultures : l’une camerounaise avec Patrick Noah, l’autre cubaine, avec Ray Guerrero et son groupe le Septeto Araison. Cet album répond à un objectif philosophique qui est cœur de sa quête musicale: explorer les musiques qui puisent leur origine dans la musique africaine dans le but d’offrir au public l’héritage légué par les ancêtres.

De cette quête naît, ce que Patrick Noah appelle, l’ “AfromusicS ». Ce nouveau concept musical s’inspire de toutes les musiques issues du patrimoine musical africain : afro pur, jazz, afro-cubain, afro-brésilien, blues, afro-caribéen…

Défendant les valeurs de solidarité et de métissage, Patrick NOAH a reçu le « prix de la citoyenneté pour la pratique culturelle » de la part de Jean Louis Débré, actuel Président de la Cours Constitutionnelle en France  et ex-Président de l’Assemblé Nationale Française. Patrick Noah témoigne via sa musique la dimension universelle et originelle de la musique africaine.

PATRICK NOAH : L’HOMME ET SON HISTOIRE

Patrick Noah est né à Yaoundé en 1973. Depuis sa plus tendre enfance, il est imprégné de musique. Vivant dans une société où le chant occupe une place primordiale – on chante la joie, la tristesse et aussi pour accompagner les labeurs journaliers – Patrick n’a pas échappé à tout cela. Issu d’une famille catholique, pour lui, chanter c’est prier deux fois. Dès l’âge de 11 ans il intègre la chorale de son quartier et commence à écrire ses premières chansons dont l’une d’elles intitulée « l’école »  fut présentée au diplôme de fin d’études primaires. En 1989, il reçoit sa première guitare des mains sa mère, Técla. Bercé dans un univers musical, il apprend rapidement, tout seul, à percer les secrets de cet instrument pour en acquérir toute la maîtrise et en extraire de nouvelles  créations. Guidé par sa passion, il fonde son premier groupe avec ses amis de l’université de Yaoundé en 1991. C’est l’occasion pour lui de pouvoir interpréter ses premières compositions lors de concerts donnés dans les salles de Yaoundé. Parallèlement à ses nombreuses activités musicales, Patrick Noah suit des études de pharmacie qui vont l’amener en France en 1992.

ZAK_2753Patrick n’a jamais pu concevoir sa vie sans la musique “principale source d’énergie et de bonheur”.  C’est pourquoi, dès son arrivée à Grenoble, il crée son premier groupe le Tropical Gun en 1992 qui deviendra Feeling One Music Africa en 1994. Le besoin de retourner à ses origines  se fait de plus en plus sentir dans sa musique. C’est pourquoi, il choisit, en 1997, de renommer son groupe Akum Be Tara, qui signifie en langue Béti du Cameroun « l’héritage des ancêtres ».

Patrick invente à cette occasion le Concept d’AfromusicS: “ … un objectif surtout philosophique, visant à donner à la musique africaine la dimension universelle qu’elle mérite en allant puiser à la source dans le but de faire profiter le public du magnifique héritage légué par nos ancêtres, Tara : ceux qui sont partis en Amérique, dans les Caraïbes, en Europe, ceux qui sont restés en Afrique …”.

Son maxi single 5 titres « Dzal » sorti en mars 2003 se présente comme le fruit de ses premières réflexions. Dès sa  sortie, il connait un grand succès au Cameroun et reçoit un bel accueil des mélomanes du monde entier notamment à Cuba, en Afrique, en France et au Canada. Sa chanson “Lazare” devient en mai 2003 générique d’émission quotidienne sur la radio télévision camerounaise. Ses chansons sont également diffusées sur les radios cubaines.

Son dernier album « Sapéria » sorti chez Playasound/Nocturne est le fruit d’un tissage entre la musique du Cameroun et de Cuba.

Patrick NOAH a aussi collaboré au dernier album du canadien Jean Michelius dans lequel il a écrit et composé la chanson « Vincent » ou « Ou ka allé mon Vincent ».

 

Playlists radio :
Kut Radio Austin USA, France Inter, Africa N°1, Radio Latina, France Bleu Normandie, Radio Rebelde Cuba, Radio Planicie Perou, Radio Vexin, ID FM Radio Enghien, Radio Gatine…

 

Playlists télévisions :
Trace TV, 3A Télésud, Cameroun Radio télévision, Télévision Togo TVT


Prix /distribution :

patrick-noah-jean-louis-debre2005, Lauréat  du prix de la citoyenneté pour la pratique culturelle, distinction obtenue de Jean Louis Debré Président de l’Assemblée Nationale Française

2012, Patrick Noah est musicien « coup de cœur » de la ville des Ulis près de Paris

 

 

Pour plus d’informations :
Facebook : lien